What channel is the Women’s World Cup on? How to watch each game

New Zealand opened the Women’s World Cup with a shock win against Norway as Australia was rocked by the news that captain Sam Kerr was sidelined from her country’s first two matches due to injury.

Co-hosts New Zealand claimed their first World Cup victory, on their 16th attempt, as Hannah Wilkinson’s goal early in the second half stunned group favorites Norway in a sold-out Eden Park.

Australia play their first match against the Republic of Ireland in Sydney but will be without their star striker after Kerr suffered a calf injury in training the day before the tournament.

The start of the World Cup came just hours after a mass shooting in Auckland that killed two people and wounded six. But the World Cup “will proceed as planned” and New Zealand Prime Minister Chris Hipkins said there was no national security risk.

Here’s everything you need to know about how to watch the Women’s World Cup.

How can I watch the Women’s World Cup?

For UK viewers, all games will be available to watch on BBC and ITV.

For the BBC, there will be live TV coverage as well as the BBC Sport website with live audio commentary available on BBC Radio 5 Live, 5 Sports Extra and the BBC Sounds app.

For ITV, live coverage will be available on television and online via ITVX.

So far, the BBC and ITV have only announced the schedule for the group stage, although the BBC has said it will broadcast both semi-finals with the final available on both channels.

When can I see England?

England plays its first World Cup game against Haiti in Group D on July 22. The game starts at 10:30am BST and will be broadcast on ITV.

On July 28, England play Denmark at 9:30am BST and the game is broadcast on the BBC.

England’s final group stage match is against China on Tuesday 1st August and will be broadcast on ITV with the game kicking off at 12:00pm BST.

If England reach the round of 16, their match will be broadcast live on the BBC.

Full group stage TV schedule

(All BST start times)

Thursday 20 July

Group A: New Zealand 1-0 Norway (08:00, Auckland) – BBC One

Group B: Australia vs Republic of Ireland (11:00, Sydney) – ITV 1

friday july 21

Group B: Nigeria vs Canada (03:30, Melbourne) – BBC Two

Group A: Philippines vs Switzerland (06:00, Dunedin) – ITV 1

Group C: Spain vs Costa Rica (08:30, Wellington) – BBC Two

Saturday July 22

Group E: USA vs Vietnam (02:00, Auckland) – BBC

Group C: Zambia vs Japan (08:00 Hamilton) – BBC

Group D: England vs Haiti (10:30, Brisbane) – ITV

Group D: Denmark vs China (1:00 p.m., Perth) – BBC

sunday july 23

Group G: Sweden vs South Africa (06:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group E: Netherlands vs Portugal (08:30, Dunedin) – BBC

Group F: France vs Jamaica (11:00, Sydney) – ITV

Monday 24 July

Group G: Italy vs Argentina (07:00, Auckland) – ITV

Group H: Germany vs Morocco (09:30, Melbourne) – ITV

Group F: Brazil vs Panama (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

tuesday july 25

Group H: Colombia vs. Republic of Korea (03:00, Sydney) – BBC

Group A: New Zealand vs Philippines (06:30, Dunedin) – ITV

Group A: Switzerland vs Norway (09:00, Hamilton) – ITV

wednesday july 26

Group C: Japan vs Costa Rica (06:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group C: Spain vs Zambia (08:30, Auckland) – BBC

Group B: Canada vs Republic of Ireland (1:00 p.m., Perth) – ITV

Thursday 27 July

Group E: USA vs Netherlands (02:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group E: Portugal vs Vietnam (08:30, Hamilton) – ITV

Group B: Australia vs Nigeria (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

friday july 28

Group G: Argentina vs South Africa (01:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group D: England vs Denmark (09:30, Sydney) – BBC

Group D: China vs Haiti (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

Saturday 29 July

Group G: Sweden vs Italy (08:30, Wellington) – BBC

Group F: France vs Brazil (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group F: Panama vs Jamaica (13:30, Perth) – ITV

sunday july 30

Group H: Korea Republic vs Morocco (05:30, Adelaide) – BBC

Group A: Norway vs Philippines (08:00, Auckland) – BBC

Group A: Switzerland vs New Zealand (08:00, Dunedin) – BBC

Group H: Germany vs Colombia (10:30, Sydney) – ITV

Monday 31 July

Group C: Costa Rica vs Zambia (08:00, Hamilton) – ITV

Group C: Japan vs Spain (08:00, Wellington) – ITV

Group B: Ireland vs Nigeria (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group B: Canada vs Australia (11:00, Melbourne) – BBC

tuesday august 1

Group E: Vietnam vs Netherlands (08:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group E: Portugal vs USA (08:00, Auckland) – ITV

Group D: Haiti vs Denmark (12:00, Perth) – ITV

Group D: China vs England (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

Wednesday August 2

Group G: South Africa vs Italy (08:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group G: Argentina vs Sweden (08:00, Hamilton) – BBC

Group F: Jamaica vs Brazil (11:00, Melbourne) – ITV

Group F: Panama vs France (11:00, Sydney) – ITV

Thursday 3 August

Group H: Korea Republic vs Germany (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group H: Morocco vs Colombia (11:00, Perth) – BBC

Leave a Comment