How to watch the Championship play-offs

A place in next season’s Premier League is at stake as four teams begin their play-off campaigns at the end of the Championship season.

Two clubs have already secured automatic promotion, with Burnley cruising to the title and Sheffield United also already relatively comfortably elevated as second-placed.

Battling to join them in the top flight are Luton Town, Middlesbrough, Coventry City and Sunderland, with the bottom two clubs securing their places on a dramatic final day after a tight race for the final play-off spots.

To book a prestigious Wembley date and a shot at the Premier League, they will first have to survive the two-legged semi-finals.

Here is everything you need to know:

When are the Championship play-offs?

The play-offs begin on May 13 with the first leg of the semi-final between Sunderland and Luton, and conclude with the second division final at Wembley on Saturday May 27.

Who has qualified for the play-offs?

In the Championship, the teams that finished third, fourth, fifth and sixth will compete for the last place for promotion to the Premiership. They are: Luton, Middlesbrough, Coventry and Sunderland.

How can I see it?

All the play-off action will be live to viewers in the UK on Sky Sports. Subscribers can stream all the games via the Sky Go app.

Championship play-off schedule:

Semifinal first legs:

Saturday May 13, 17:30 BST: Sunderland 2-1 Luton (Stadium of Light, Sunderland)

Sunday May 14, 12pm BST: Coventry vs Middlesbrough (Coventry Building Society Arena)

Second legs:

Tuesday May 16, 8pm BST: Luton vs Sunderland (Kenilworth Road, Luton)

Wednesday May 17 8pm BST: Middlesbrough vs Coventry (Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough)

Final: Saturday May 27, 16:45 BST

Who has qualified for the play-offs in League One and League Two?

In League One, they are the finalists in that same distribution from third to sixth: Sheffield Wednesday, Barnsley, Bolton, Peterborough.

Meanwhile, League Two awards one additional automatic promotion place, meaning clubs ranked fourth through seventh advance to the play-offs: Stockport County, Carlisle United, Bradford City, Salford City.

League One play-off schedule

Semifinal first legs:

Friday May 12, 8pm BST: Peterborough 4-0 Sheffield Wednesday (London Road, Peterborough)

Saturday May 13, 3pm BST: Bolton 1-1 Barnsley (Bolton University Stadium)

Second legs:

Thursday May 18, 8pm BST: Sheffield Wednesday vs Peterborough (Hillsborough, Sheffield)

Friday May 19, 8pm BST: Barnsley vs Bolton (Oakwell, Barnsley)

Finale: Monday May 29, 3pm BST

League Two play-off schedule

Semifinal first legs:

Saturday May 13, 7:45pm BST: Salford City 1-0 Stockport County (Moor Lane, Salford)

Sunday May 14, 7pm BST: Bradford vs Carlisle (Valley Parade, Bradford)

Second legs:

Saturday May 20, 12:30pm BST: Stockport County vs Salford City (Edgeley Park, Stockport)

Saturday May 20, 3pm BST: Carlisle United vs Bradford City (Brunton Park, Carlisle)

Finale: Sunday May 28, 1:30pm BST

Leave a Comment