How to watch all the Women’s World Cup matches on TV

England travel to Australia and New Zealand as one of the favorites to win the Women’s World Cup, and Sarina Wiegman’s side are looking to back up their European Championship victory last summer on home soil.

Las Leonas were eliminated at the semifinal stage in both 2015 and 2019 after suffering defeat at the hands of Japan and the United States.

The United States, who have won the tournament a record four times, will once again represent one of England’s main obstacles in their quest to win the World Cup for the third time in a row.

Ireland will make their Women’s World Cup debut, while Germany, Spain, France and Sweden will all be contenders from Europe.

With the tournament fast approaching, here’s everything you need to know about how to watch the Women’s World Cup.

When is the Women’s World Cup?

The tournament will begin on July 20, 2023 with the opening match between the hosts New Zealand and Norway. Australia will kick off against Ireland later that day.

The knockout stages begin on August 5, and the World Cup final takes place in Sydney on August 20.

How can I watch the Women’s World Cup?

The television rights were finally agreed upon after a lengthy public dispute between several European nations and FIFA. Gianni Infantino, the president of FIFA, threatened a media blackout for the continent’s biggest soccer nations (UK, Germany, France, Italy and Spain), but that was averted after an agreement was reached in mid- of June.

For UK viewers, all games will be available to watch on BBC and ITV.

For the BBC, there will be live TV coverage as well as the BBC Sport website with live audio commentary available on BBC Radio 5 Live, 5 Sports Extra and the BBC Sounds app.

For ITV, live coverage will be available on television and online via ITVX.

At the moment, the BBC and ITV have only announced the schedule for the group stage, although the BBC has said it will broadcast both semi-finals with the final available on both channels.

When can I see England?

England plays its first World Cup game against Haiti in Group D on July 22. The game starts at 10:30am BST and will be broadcast on ITV.

On July 28, England play Denmark at 9:30am BST and the game is broadcast on the BBC.

England’s final group stage match is against China on Tuesday 1st August and will be broadcast on ITV with the game kicking off at 12:00pm BST.

If England reach the round of 16, their match will be broadcast live on the BBC.

Full group stage TV schedule

(All BST start times)

Thursday 20 July

Group A: New Zealand vs Norway (08:00, Auckland) – BBC

Group B: Australia vs Republic of Ireland (11:00, Sydney) – ITV

friday july 21

Group B: Nigeria vs Canada (03:30, Melbourne) – BBC

Group A: Philippines vs Switzerland (06:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group C: Spain vs Costa Rica (08:30, Wellington) – BBC

Saturday July 22

Group E: USA vs Vietnam (02:00, Auckland) – BBC

Group C: Zambia vs Japan (08:00 Hamilton) – BBC

Group D: England vs Haiti (10:30, Brisbane) – ITV

Group D: Denmark vs China (1:00 p.m., Perth) – BBC

sunday july 23

Group G: Sweden vs South Africa (06:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group E: Netherlands vs Portugal (08:30, Dunedin) – BBC

Group F: France vs Jamaica (11:00, Sydney) – ITV

Monday 24 July

Group G: Italy vs Argentina (07:00, Auckland) – ITV

Group H: Germany vs Morocco (09:30, Melbourne) – ITV

Group F: Brazil vs Panama (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

tuesday july 25

Group H: Colombia vs. Republic of Korea (03:00, Sydney) – BBC

Group A: New Zealand vs Philippines (06:30, Dunedin) – ITV

Group A: Switzerland vs Norway (09:00, Hamilton) – ITV

wednesday july 26

Group C: Japan vs Costa Rica (06:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group C: Spain vs Zambia (08:30, Auckland) – BBC

Group B: Canada vs Republic of Ireland (1:00 p.m., Perth) – ITV

Thursday 27 July

Group E: USA vs Netherlands (02:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group E: Portugal vs Vietnam (08:30, Hamilton) – ITV

Group B: Australia vs Nigeria (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

friday july 28

Group G: Argentina vs South Africa (01:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group D: England vs Denmark (09:30, Sydney) – BBC

Group D: China vs Haiti (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

Saturday 29 July

Group G: Sweden vs Italy (08:30, Wellington) – BBC

Group F: France vs Brazil (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group F: Panama vs Jamaica (13:30, Perth) – ITV

sunday july 30

Group H: Korea Republic vs Morocco (05:30, Adelaide) – BBC

Group A: Norway vs Philippines (08:00, Auckland) – BBC

Group A: Switzerland vs New Zealand (08:00, Dunedin) – BBC

Group H: Germany vs Colombia (10:30, Sydney) – ITV

Monday 31 July

Group C: Costa Rica vs Zambia (08:00, Hamilton) – ITV

Group C: Japan vs Spain (08:00, Wellington) – ITV

Group B: Ireland vs Nigeria (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group B: Canada vs Australia (11:00, Melbourne) – BBC

tuesday august 1

Group E: Vietnam vs Netherlands (08:00, Dunedin) – ITV

Group E: Portugal vs USA (08:00, Auckland) – ITV

Group D: Haiti vs Denmark (12:00, Perth) – ITV

Group D: China vs England (12:00, Adelaide) – ITV

Wednesday August 2

Group G: South Africa vs Italy (08:00, Wellington) – BBC

Group G: Argentina vs Sweden (08:00, Hamilton) – BBC

Group F: Jamaica vs Brazil (11:00, Melbourne) – ITV

Group F: Panama vs France (11:00, Sydney) – ITV

Thursday 3 August

Group H: Korea Republic vs Germany (11:00, Brisbane) – BBC

Group H: Morocco vs Colombia (11:00, Perth) – BBC

Leave a Comment