Erdogan supporters await Turkish election results

Erdogan’s supporters gather to await the results of Turkey’s presidential and parliamentary elections.

The Turkish High Election Board will announce the election results shortly.

Candidates include current President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, Kemal Kilicdaroglu, Sinan Oğan and Muharrem İnce.

A candidate needs more than 50 percent of the vote in the first round to win outright. If no one crosses the 50 percent mark, the top two candidates will meet in a runoff two weeks later, with this year’s voting set for May 28.

President Erdogan has been in power since 2014, having been Prime Minister of Turkey from 2003 to 2014 and Mayor of Istanbul from 1994 to 1998.

Leave a Comment